Does Florida have reciprocity for firefighters?

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C) 69A-37.055(1) states: The Division of State Fire Marshal may issue a certificate to any person who has received basic employment training for firefighters in another state when the division has determined that such training was at least equivalent to that required by the division for …

Does Florida accept firefighter Certification?

To be a career Firefighter in the State of Florida, an individual must submit an Application for Certification as a Firefighter II, and successfully complete the Firefighter Minimum Standards Course, or have received an equivalent amount of training in another state (or country), and pass the state written and …

How do I get Firefighter 2 certified in Florida?

To be a career Firefighter in the State of Florida, an individual must submit an Application for Certification as a Firefighter II, and successfully complete the Firefighter Minimum Standards Course, or have received an equivalent amount of training in another state (or country), and pass the state written and …

How do I become a firefighter in Florida?

How to Become a Firefighter in Florida

  1. 18 years old.
  2. High school diploma or GED.
  3. Valid Florida driver’s license.
  4. State of Florida Firefighter Certificate of Compliance.
  5. Paramedic or EMT Basic Certificate by the State of Florida.
IMPORTANT:  What characteristics are essential for fire fighter suit?

Does Florida accept pro board?

Yes, but like a few others said – you have to challenge the state test. Still better than having to redo the academy. They will grant reciprocity for other certs you have as long as they are proboard (FO1, 160hr hazmat tech, Driver/Operator, Instructor).

How much money do firefighters make in Florida?

The average salary for a firefighter in Florida is around $53,340 per year.

What is the best fire academy in Florida?

Best Fire Science/Fire-Fighting colleges in Florida 2021

  • University of Florida. Gainesville, FL. Image by @mostvigorousspring. …
  • St Petersburg College. Clearwater, FL. St Petersburg College offers 1 Fire Science/Fire-Fighting degree programs. …
  • Miami Dade College. Miami, FL. …
  • Valencia College. Orlando, FL.

What is the maximum age to become a firefighter in Florida?

Officially, there is no maximum age to become a firefighter.

You could become a firefighter at the age of 60 if a fire department was willing to hire you.

Is it hard to get a firefighter job in Florida?

It is usually very difficult to become a firefighter. There is usually a lot of competition for each vacant position. Although there are usually only a few basic requirements to apply for a firefighter job, those that are hired frequently have a lot more training, education, and experience than required.

What is the age limit to be a firefighter in Florida?

Those seeking employment as a firefighter must meet minimum qualifications for certification as defined by Florida Statutes 633.34-633.35. In general, applicants must meet other requirements including: Be at least 18 years of age. Have a high school diploma or equivalent and valid Florida driver’s license.

IMPORTANT:  What class vehicle is a fire truck?

What states are pro board certified?

States & Provinces

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Alberta.
  • Arkansas.
  • British Columbia – JIBC.
  • California.
  • California Specialized Training Institute.
  • Connecticut.

What is the difference between pro board and Ifsac?

Pro Board and IFSAC are the bodies that accredit other organizations using the NFPA standards, such as AHJs and training institutes. … A Pro Board/IFSAC certificate should be the same no matter what AHJ issues it. This means that you do not necessarily need a certificate issued in the province in which you want to work.

Fire safety