What are the basic fire protection systems?

Fire suppression systems, smoke detectors, and sprinkler systems are all types of fire protection systems that help with fire detection and protecting building occupants and equipment.

What are the two systems of fire protection?

There are in fact two types of fire protection: Active Fire Protection (AFP) and Passive Fire Protection (PFP).

What does a fire protection system consist of?

Basic Components of a Fire Alarm System

These are the circuits which connect initiating devices such as smoke detectors, heat detectors, manual pull stations, and water flow alarms. Additionally, many system monitor devices important to the overall fire safety of the building also tie in to initiating circuits.

How are fire classified?

Fires can be classified in five different ways depending on the agent that fuels them: Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, and Class K. Each type of fire involves different flammable materials and requires a special approach. In fact, trying to fight a blaze with the wrong method might make the situation worse.

What are the methods of fire protection?

10 measures to assess fire safety

  • Provide adequate means of escape. …
  • Outline clear pathways to exit doors. …
  • Install smoke detection systems. …
  • Maintain smoke suppression systems. …
  • Conduct regular fire drills. …
  • Use flame-retardant materials in interiors. …
  • Make your office accessible to firefighters. …
  • Keep the building plans handy.
IMPORTANT:  How high should a pergola be above a fire pit?

What is the best defense against fire?

As always, the best defense against a fire is to be prepared. Take a moment to look at your fire extinguisher.

What are the 4 goals of fire protection?

Four goals: (a) prevent fire from starting, (b) prevent loss of life in case fire does start, (c) confine fire to its origin, and (d) extinguish fire.

Fire safety