What is Grade A fire alarm?

As a summary Grade A comprises a system of electrically operated smoke and/or heat detectors which are linked to a control panel to give information on the location of any fire or any fault which may develop. The control panel must conform to current British Standard 5839 Part 4.

What is a Grade B fire alarm system?

Grade B system is a fire detection and fire alarm system comprising fire detectors (other than smoke and heat alarms); fire sounders, control and indicating equipment and power supplies conforming to BS EN54-2 and BS EN54-4.

What are the fire alarm categories?

Category L1 – Maximum life protection automated fire alarm system. Category L2 – Additional life protection automated fire alarm system. Category L3 – Standard life protection automated fire alarm system. Category L4 – Modest life protection automated fire alarm system.

What is a Grade D1 fire alarm system?

Grade D1: A system of one or more mains powered detectors, each with a tamper-proof standby supply consisting of a battery or batteries. Grade D2: A system of one or more mains-powered detectors, each with an integral standby supply consisting of a user-replaceable battery or batteries.

Do you need fire detection in toilets?

To meet LD1 requirements, the installation of a fire detection system is required throughout the premises – this includes all rooms (and circulation areas that form part of the escape routes) except toilets, bathrooms and shower rooms.

IMPORTANT:  What is California doing to prevent wildfires?

What grade are Aico smoke alarms?

The standard defines various grades for installation within certain properties. So, what grade of alarms are there for a property? In British Standard BS 5839-6:2019 there are 4 grades of system; Grades A, C, D and F. Here at Aico, we manufacture and supply Grade D and F alarms.

What are the 2 types of fire alarms?

Generally, there are two types of home smoke alarms: photoelectric and ionization.

What is a Type 4 fire alarm system?

Type 4: – A fire detection and alarm system with manual call points and smoke detectors, connected to the fire brigade. Heat detectors are allowed to replace smoke detectors in some locations.

What is a Type 3 fire alarm?

Type 3 – Automatic fire alarm system activated by heat detectors and manual call points. A type 3 system comprises a Type 2 system plus heat detectors with automatic signalling to a remote receiving centre. The system can be manually operated by a manual call point.

Having a fully operational fire alarm is a regulatory requirement for those premises that need them, which is why regular testing is important. The guidance to test weekly comes from British Standard BS 5839. This the standard that the UK government recommends should be followed with regards to fire alarm maintenance.

Fire safety